H.E. Mr. Festus Gontebanye Mogae


The Honorable Mr. Mogae, President of Botswana from 1998 to 2008, is Chairman of the Champions for an HIV-Free Generation, which is a leadership initiative he launched in 2008 to scale up global response to HIV/AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa.  Mr. Mogae received the 2008 Mo Ibrahim Foundation Award for Achievement in African Leadership for having “ensured Botswana’s continued stability and prospe... Read More

Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Board Member

Dr. Dlamini-Zuma is Chair of the African Union Commission (AUC), which is the Secretariat of the ...

Akinwumi Ayodeji Adesina

Board Member

Akinwumi Ayodeji Adesina is the 8th elected President of the African Development Bank Group. He w...

Dr. Abdalla Hamdok

Board Member

Dr. Abdalla Hamdok was appointed by Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon as the Acting Executive Secreta...

Professor Abdoulaye Bathily

Board Member

Professor Bathily is Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General in the United Nations...

Dr. Frene Ginwala

Board Member

Dr. Ginwala is the Founding Chancellor of the University of KwaZulu-Natal, where she is currently...

Mr. Abdoulie Janneh

Board Member

Mr. Janneh is Executive Director of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation.  He is a Gambian national who was...

Dr. Speciosa Wandira-Kazibwe

Board Member

Dr. Wandira-Kazibwe, Vice President of Uganda from 1994 to 2003, is the United Nations Secretary-...

Ambassador Walter Fust

Board Member

Ambassador Fust is Chairman of UNESCO’s International Program for Development of Communication ...

Dr. Cheikh Modibo Diarra

Board Member

Dr. Cheikh Modibo DIARRA is a Malian astrophysicist, a specialist in space exploration and a UNES...